Navarasas - Wall frame comes with a beautiful design that represents nine Rasas - emotional essences.  The design has Navarasa meaning of each Rasa in English, name of the Rasa in English and Sanskrit,. This is perfect gift for those who want to greater awareness and control of one’s emotions.
  • Navarasas - Wall Frame is a framed wall art professionally printed with sharp, vivid designs
  • It is  Printed on Premium Quality Art Paper 
  • Elegant Frame that complements the work of art!
  • Hook at the back to make sure framed print stays on the wall for years to come

Emotions are the essence of human communication. Rasa Theory finds its root in the late Vedic period in Atharvaveda (200 BC- 100 BC). But Bharata Muni is regarded as the father of Indian Rasa Theory because he gave a major statement in his book Natyashastra (1st century AD Approx) which is a Indian Treatise on performing arts, encompassing theater, dance and music. Bharata says that which can be relished – like the taste of food – is rasa: “Rasyate anena iti rasaha (asvadayatva).”

Navarasa is a unique feature in Indian classical dance forms. The classical dance form of Bharatnatyam is characterized by the clear classification of Navarasas and how to emote them with mudras and facial expressions.

Nava means "Nine" and Rasa is often translated as "mood", "emotion", "expression" or "sentiment". The Navarasa, in the scriptures refer to the nine expressions that humans often show. According to Indian Classical dance forms there are altogether nine important Rasas mentioned.

Each Rasa is associated with a colour that describes the emotion/ mood of human life. The nine emotions included in Navarasa are

1. Rasa: Raudra
Colour: Red
Meaning: Fury / Anger
Property: It means roaring and has a sense of rage. Anger can lead to irritation, hatred and violence. So, let go of the anger from you than getting stuck. 

2. Rasa: Bhayaanaka
Colour: Black
Meaning: Horror
Property: It is associated to fear, worry, insecurity, self-doubts; these factors engulf us completely and shuts us down. One can overcome this emotion by love, inner strength and truth. 

3. Rasa: Bibhatsa
Colour: Blue
Meaning: Disgust
Property: It means to detest or aversion. It characterizes judgemental mind and self-pity.

4. Rasa: Haasya
Colour: White
Meaning: Laughter & Joy
Property: It connects us to joy, laughter and our sense of humour. Happiness makes you forget everything and relieves you of stress. 

5. Rasa: Shringaara
Colour: Pale Light Green
Meaning: Romance
Property: It is the crown emotion that has the capability to heal anything. It helps us get rid of ego.   

6. Rasa: Shaanti
Colour: White
Meaning: Peace
Property: It reflects deep calmness and relaxation. When we sit quietly or meditate, we are at peace. It means to be peaceful, tranquil or contented. 

7. Rasa: Veera
Colour: Pale Orange
Meaning: Heroism / Courage
Property: It reflects a heroic or manly attitude. Everyone has a warrior inside him/her, it’s just that you need to awaken it from dormancy. 

8. Rasa: Karuna
Colour: Grey
Meaning: Compassion
Property: It means pity or compassion that is invoked by anguish or pain or sorrow. Compassion is a bridge that connects us all through which we can relate to each other’s sadness deeply and honestly. 

9. Rasa: Adbhuta
Colour: Yellow
Meaning: Wonder/ Surprise
Property: This means wonder, amazement & surprise. We get fascinated and become an adventurer of life.   Navarasa is accepted worldwide and has been used in all art forms.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review